A Resolution Honoring Alpha Kappa Alpha, Incorporated

WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated[®] was founded on January 15, 1908, with the mission to promote unity and friendship among college women, to study and help alleviate problems concerning girls and women in order to improve their social stature, to maintain a progressive interest in college life, and to be of "Service to All Mankind"; and

WHEREAS, Early leaders of Alpha Kappa Alpha recognized the benefit of seeking civil rights, women's rights, and social reform. In 1913, first International President of AKA, Nellie Quander, sought to participate in the women's suffragette movement for women's right to vote; and

WHEREAS, In 1980, at the 80th Boule in Atlanta, GA., desiring to establish a public policy plan for Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., First International Vice President, Faye B. Bryant led a group to establish a Standing Committee, the Connection Committee. Through what is now known as the Connection and Social Action Committee, members have a vehicle to robustly engage in social, political, and civic involvement at all levels; and

WHEREAS, This rich heritage is embodied in the current International President of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Danette Anthony Reed (2022-2026) who hails from Chicago and was initiated into the sorority on the ivy-covered campus of Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois; and

Whereas, 20th Supreme Basileus Barbara K. Phillips desiring to establish a public policy plan for AKA Sorority, thus appointing First International Vice President, Faye B. Bryant to lead a group establishingknown as the *Connection and Social Action Committee*; and

WHEREAS, Under the banner of *Soaring to Greater Heights of Service and Sisterhood*, the 2022-2026 the international administration seeks to build upon Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority's rich legacy of service by being at the forefront of social justice and promoting fairness and equity via vibrant chapters throughout the United States, Canada, the Caribbean, Africa, Asia, Europe, and the United Arab Emirates; and

WHEREAS, Illinois is home to 43 Alpha Kappa ;and Sorority, Inc ; and

WHEREAS, The Ivy Center, was established as the sorority's corporate headquarters in Chicago, and for over 70 years served as Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.'s hub for all sorority activities and is considered an icon of the community and city; and

WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.'s Day at Chicago City Council is one of many opportunities for members to advocate for critical issues to the communities we prioritize, such as access to high quality education, maternal health and infant mortality, suicide prevention, public safety, environmental justice, and fiscal transparency – issues we know are priorities for this administration under the leadership of the third Black Mayor of Chicago, Mayor Brandon Johnson; and

WHEREAS, Currently, two members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. are serving in the Chicago City Council, Alderwoman Michelle A. Harris, 8th Ward and Alderwoman Stephanie D. Coleman, 16th Ward; and

WHEREAS, Currently, several members of Chicago alumnae chapters of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. are elected officials in the State of Illinois - 48th Lieutenant Governor Julianna Stratton; State Senator and Assistant Majority Leader Mattie Hunter, 3rd District; State Representative Kimberly DuBuclet, 5th District; and former 4th Ward Alderwoman (1991-2010), current Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle; and

WHEREAS, On June 12, 2024, Chicagoland members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. will participate in "AKA Day at Chicago City Council"; therefore, be it

THEREFORE, Be It Resolved, That the Mayor and members of the City Council of the City of Chicago hereby do declare June 12, 2024 as Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated[®] Day in the City of Chicago; and be it further

Be It Further Resolved That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. Theta Omega, Lambda Mu Omega, Lambda Nu Omega, Phi Kappa Omega, Tau Gamma Omega, Xi Nu Omega, Chi Omega Omega, and Alpha Beta Delta Omega Chapters in recognition of all Chicagoland chapters.

Michelle A. Harris Alderman, 8th Ward

Stephanie I. Coleman Alderman, 16th Ward