RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, the Chicago City Council passed the Community Commission for Public Safety and Accountability Ordinance in July 2021, creating a new model for police oversight, accountability, and public safety; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Lori Lightfoot appointed seven members to the Interim Commission in August 2022; and

WHEREAS, the Interim Commission members are President Anthony Driver, Jr., Vice-President Remel Terry, Rev. Dr. Beth Brown, Oswaldo Gomez, Yvette Loizon, Cliff Nellis, and Isaac Troncoso; and

WHEREAS, an Interim Commission was established to carry out the powers and duties outlined by ordinance until the regular Commission was appointed; and

WHEREAS, these Interim Commissioners have dedicated their time, expertise, and commitment to ensuring the principles of transparency, accountability, and community engagement were upheld in Chicago's public safety infrastructure; and

WHEREAS, under their leadership, the Interim Commission led the historic search and nomination process for current Chicago Police Department Superintendent, Larry Snelling; and

WHEREAS, the Interim Commission successfully conducted the selection and nomination process for current Police Board President, Kyle Cooper; and

WHEREAS, the Interim Commission approved a CPD General Order that put the gang database within the Commission's jurisdiction, reflecting a commitment to protecting Chicago's most vulnerable communities and promoting fair policing practices; and

WHEREAS, the Interim Commission strengthened a CPD policy prohibiting Department members from membership in or affiliation with criminal organization and from associations with known members of criminal organizations and hate groups; and

WHEREAS, the Interim Commission held crucial public hearings on officer wellness, public safety for workers, and acoustic gunshot technology, facilitating important community dialogue to inform policy development; and

WHEREAS, the Interim Commission engaged with thousands of residents across Chicago during their tenure, ensuring that community voices were at the forefront of the Commission's work and were incorporated into public safety policies; and

WHEREAS, the Interim Commission has demonstrated a commitment to justice, equity, and police accountability, setting a strong foundation for the future work of the permanent Commission; and

WHEREAS, their efforts have not only advanced the goals of the ordinance, but have also contributed to making Chicago safer for all residents; and

WHEREAS, the Chicago City Council recognizes and commends the outstanding contributions and accomplishments of the Interim members of the Community Commission for Public Safety and Accountability.

BE IT RESOLVED that we, the Mayor and members of the Chicago City Council hereby honor and express our deepest gratitude to President Anthony Driver Jr., Vice-President Remel Terry, Rev. Dr. Beth Brown, Oswaldo Gomez, Yvette Loizon, Cliff Nellis, and Isaac Troncoso for their exemplary service and dedication to the City of Chicago;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a suitable copy of this resolution be presented to each member of the Interim Commission as a token of the City's appreciation and respect.