RESOLUTION HONORING THE CENTENNIEAL ANNIVERSARY OF THE Xi LAMBDA CHAPTER of ALPHA PHI ALPHA FRATERNITY, INC.

WHEREAS, Since its founding on December 4, 1906, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. has supplied voice and vision to the struggles of African-Americans and people of color around the world. Alpha Phi Alpha, the first intercollegiate Greek-letter fraternity established for African-Americans, was founded at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York by seven college men who recognized the need for a strong bond of Brotherhood among African descendants in this country. The visionary founders, known as the "Jewels" of the Fraternity, are Henry Arthur Callis, Charles Henry Chapman, Eugene Kinckle Jones, George Biddle Kelley, Nathaniel Allison Murray, Robert Harold Ogle, and Vertner Woodson Tandy; and

WHEREAS, Xi Lambda Chapter, the alumni chapter authorized at the 1923 general convention, the seat of which is to be the City of Chicago and vicinity, was installed on May 15, 1924 at the Theta Chapter house and set up at a banquet given at the Ideal Tea Room in this city, Friday evening May 26th, 1924; and

WHEREAS, The following brothers were taken in as charter members: Brothers William M. Tate, Walter S. Grant Jewel Henry Arthur Callis, L. A. Mahone, Lloyd A. Hall, Frank V. Plummer, Edward W. Beasley, Julius C. Greene, Henry Trammel, H. Reginald Smith, Louis R. Middleton, William H. Benson, Oscar Randall, William L. Dawson, Julian H. Lewis, Clarence A. McCoy, J. Mayo Williams, Thomas A. Boger, Norwood A. Thorne, Samuel H. Rosenburgh, Nathan K. McGill, and Roscoe C. Giles. The new chapter was set up by Brothers Charles Greer, Homer P. Cooper and Nelson Glover of Theta Chapter. Brother Dr. George C. Hall acted as toastmaster; and

WHEREAS, Xi Lambda continues its historic role of providing leadership in Chicago and holding true to its pledge of service to our community through its support of the Xi Lambda Educational Foundation which gives thousands of dollars annually in scholarships to deserving students. Xi Lambda has old traditions that bind the brotherhood to excellence in all that the chapter endeavors; and

WHEREAS, Some of the notable brothers that have served Alpha in Xi Lambda are Jesse Owens, E. Franklin Frazier, John Hope Franklin, Claude A. Barnett, Sydney P. Jones, Sidney A. Jones, Jr., Henry Arthur Callis, John H. Stroger, Todd Stroger, Jerry Butler, Roland Burris, Elgie Sims, and many, many more; and

WHEREAS, The impact of XI Lambda in Chicago can be measured in our current 324 Active Brothers, 192 Life Members, 18 Current General, Regional, and District Positions Held, recipient of the 2024 Midwestern Regional Chapter of the Year, and have awarded over \$100k in Scholarships to Chicago Students; and

WHEREAS, Xi Lambda has continuously served and actively participated in the National Programs of Alpha Phi Alpha, Fraternity, Inc. which are: *A Voteless People is a Hopeless People, Go to High School, Go to College, A. Charles Haston Brothers Keeper, Project Alpha, Big Brothers / Big Sisters of America, Boy Scouts of America*; and

WHEREAS, the Xi Lambda Chapter also has supported Chicago annually with its work at the Pacific Garden Mission, a Youth Halloween Party, Bud Billiken Parade, Alpha Walk, Adopt A Senior program, Juneteenth Golf Tournament, and the Brother William R. Taylor Annual Scholarship Showcase; and

WHEREAS, The Honorable Michelle Harris, Alderwoman of the 8th Ward, has informed this august body of the steadfast and stalwart work of this noteworthy and special team; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, That we, the Mayor and members of the City Council of the City of Chicago gathered here 22nd day of May 2024, do hereby congratulate the Xi Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., as they celebrate their Centennial, and recognize and say "Thank You" for their 100 years of fraternal brotherhood and 100 years of service to the City of Chicago.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitable copies of this resolution be prepared and presented to the Xi Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.

Michelle A. Harris

Alderman, 8th Ward