RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Hamas launched an unprovoked terrorist attack on Israel that killed over 1,400 people in brutal fashion and took 240 people of all ages as hostages in direct violation of the 1949 Geneva Convention; and,

WHEREAS, National and international efforts have been underway calling for a ceasefire; however, on January 23, 2024, Hamas leaders rejected ceasefire efforts that called for Gaza leaders to leave and live in exile as well as release all remaining hostages, according to Egyptian officials familiar with the negotiations; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CHICAGO, That we, the Mayor and Members of the City Council of the City of Chicago, gathered here this 31st Day of January, 2024, call on Hamas leaders to recognize the Article 3 of the Geneva Convention that strictly prohibits the taking of hostages; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CHICAGO, That Hanan Yablonka, Matan Angrest, Bannawat Seathao, Surasak Rumnao, Pongsak Thenna, Sathian Suwannakham, Natthapong Pinta, Watchara Sriaoun, Sonthaya Oakkharasri, Sudthisak Rinthalak, Ron Binyamin, Eitan Mor, Elyakim Libman, Eden Yerushalmi, Doron Steinbrecher, Almog Sarusi, Dror Or, Hamza Alziadana, Youssef Hamis Alziadana, Daniel Peretz, Ariel Cunio, Maxim Herkin, Idan Shtivi, Ran Gvili, Yosef Chaim Ohana, Michel Nisenbaum, Tamir Nimrodi, Omer Neutra, Shlomo Mansour, Alexander Lobanov, Andrey Kozlov, Segev Kalfon, Itzhak Gelerenter, Ori Danino, Nimrod Cohen, Sagi Dekel Chen, Itai Chen, Rom Braslavski, Ziv Berman, Gali Berman, Uriel Baruch, Yair Yaakov, Sasha Trupanov, Amit Buskila, Romi Leshem Gonen, Orión Hernández Rado, Bipin Joshi, Lior Rudaeff, Yagev Buchshtab, Edan Alexander, Yair Horn, Eitan Horn, Arbel Yahod, Dolev Yahod, Abraham Munder, Kaid Farhan Elkadi, Chaim Peri, Elad Katzir, Oded Lifshitz, Amiram Cooper, Nadav Popplewell, David Cunio, Shlomi Ziv, Tal Shoham, Itzhk Elgarat, Alexander Dancyg, Omer Shem Tov, Matan Zangauker, Tsachi Idan, Or Levy, Guy Gilboa-Dalal, Gadi Moshe Mosez, Yoram Metzger, Daniella Gilboa, Ohad Yahalomi, Evyatar David, Omri Miran, Alon Ohel, Hersh Goldberg-Polin, Fernando Marman, Bar Kuperstein, Eli Sharabi, Keith Samuel Siegel, Elia Cohen, Elkana Bohbot, Agam Berger, Ohad Ben Ami, Naama Levy, Almog Meir Jan, Karina Ariev, Noa Argamani, Avinathan Or, Liri Elbag, Omer Wenkert, Carmel Gat, Kfir Bibas, Ariel Bibas, Shiri Bibas, Yarden Bibas, Ofer Kalderon, Louis Har, Oz Daniel, Emily Tehila Damari, and Muhhamad El Atrash be immediately released without any preconditions in accordance with international law.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CHICAGO, That the bodies of Itay Svirsky, Yossi Sharabi, Ilan Weiss, Ravid Katz, Aviv Atzili, Oren Goldin, Tal Haimi, Eliyahu (Churchill) Margalit, Sgt. Shaked Dahan, Sgt. Kiril Brodski, Staff Sgt. Tomer Yaakov Ahimas, Shani Louk, Colonel Asaf Hamami, Gad Haggai, Judy Weinstein-Haggai, Inbar Haiman, Eitan Levy, Jonatan Mordechai Samerano, Maya Goren, Tamir Adar, Sahar Baruch, Guy Iluz, Arye Zalmanovich, Ofra Keidar, Joshua Loitu Mollel, Ronen Engel, and Shai Levinson be immediately returned to their families without any preconditions.

Raymond A. Alderman, 15th/Ward