## RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING THE COMMUNITY LEADERSHIP FELLOWS CLASS OF 2023

WHEREAS, The Community Leadership Fellows' inaugural cohort of Westside leaders will graduate on June 26, 2023; and

**WHEREAS**, The Chicago City Council has been informed of this occasion by the Honorable Michael D. Rodriguez, Alderman of the 22nd Ward; and

WHEREAS, Community Leadership Fellows identifies leaders within the communities of Austin, East Garfield Park, Little Village, North Lawndale, West Garfield Park, and West Humboldt Park and provides them with the mentoring, networking and skill-building resources to amplify their impact in the neighborhoods in which they live, work, and lead; and

WHEREAS, Community Leadership Fellows recognizes that the Westside of Chicago is full of talented individuals who know all too well that opportunities and resources are not always evenly distributed among their community; and

WHEREAS, Community Leadership Fellows was founded in 2021 to create opportunities to invest in homegrown leaders of color who will lead sustainable and vibrant communities; and

WHEREAS, The Community Leadership Fellows Class of 2023, consisting of 18 fellows, completed a year-long leadership experience that included workshops, site visits, trainings, and collaborative learning exercises designed to set them on a path towards executive leadership; and

WHEREAS, The advisory and investors councils of Community Leadership Fellows would like to congratulate the inaugural cohort for successfully completing their program year and encourage them to continue to be a beacon of hope for their communities as alumni; now, therefore,

**BEIT RESOLVED**, That we, the Mayor and members of the City Council of the City of Chicago, assembled on June 21st, 2023, do hereby congratulate the Community Leadership Fellows Class of 2023: Elianne Bahena, LaCreshia Birts, Jamil Brown, Patricia Carrillo, Alees Edwards, Lee Ann Eiland, Diana Franco, Crystal E. Gardner, Dr. Jaleesa Harris, Jackie Hoffman, DeAngelo Johnson, Roberta Logwood, Aisha Oliver, Mercedes Pickett, Alex Ramon, Gaython "Lady" Sanders, Edward Whitaker. Jr, and Karen Arewa Winters; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,** That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to each of these exemplary fellows as a token of our respect and of our best wishes for a successful and prosperous future.

Alderperson Michael D. Rodriguez, 22<sup>nd</sup> Ward

Well D. Flax