RESOLUTION HONORING THE 2023 CHICAGO CITY COUNCIL LATINO CAUCUS FOUNDATION SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS

WHEREAS, The Chicago City Council Latino Caucus ("Latino Caucus") actively works to improve the quality of life for Latino families throughout Chicago by assuring their best interests are well represented in City of Chicago City Council; and

WHEREAS, The Latino Caucus is committed to the education and development of the next generation of Chicago leaders; and

WHEREAS, Financial barriers should never limit one's accessibility to education and achieving their dreams; and

WHEREAS, The Latino Caucus formed the Chicago Latino Caucus Foundation ("CLCF") to support the advancement of Latino youth through scholarship, internship, and mentorship opportunity; and

WHEREAS, In 2023, the CLCF awarded its seventh year of scholarships to forty-four (44) recipients, all who worked hard to achieve academic and professional success and deserve to be celebrated; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Latino Caucus would like to acknowledge each recipient of this prestigious scholarship and look forward to celebrating more of their future milestones; and, now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, That we, the Mayor and members of the City Council of the City of Chicago, assemble on July 26, 2023, to hereby honor and congratulate the following 2023 Chicago Latino Caucus Foundation Scholarship recipients:

Adrian Guzman, Alejandro Rojas, Alexia Luna, Amy Ortiz, Amy Villasenor, Anahy Perez, Axel Hernandez, Brenda Leyva, Dafne Torres, Dilan Sanchez Ruiz, Edgar Castillo, Edgar Vilchez, Emely Moreno, Evelynn Garcia-Ocon, Geovany Arias, Gilberto Ceja Jr., Heidi Torres, Joel Diaz Krystal Rodriguez, Leilani Lopez, Lesly Medina Gomez, Liliana Mendez, Lorena Gonzalez, Lourdes Gentil, Lukasz Maria Dalecki, Manolo Hernandez-Ponce, Marian Arevalo, Melanie Garcia, Miroslava Chavolla Avina, Nailanie Marie Roman, Natasha Padilla, Natividad Perez, Oscar Boccelli, Rafael Adrian Ortiz, Samantha Fuentes, Samuel Figueroa, Scarlett E. Garcia, Sebastian Cortes, Shirly Keyli Yamali Rodas Figueroa, Solaris Fernandez, Valerie Nuñez, Yehiri Gonzalez, Zarelly Teresita Rodriguez, Zoe Baert; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this Resolution be presented to each of these exemplary scholarship recipients as a token of our respect, gratitude, and best wishes for their bright and prosperous future.

Chicago City Council July 26, 2023

Michael D. Rodriguez Alderman, 22nd Ward